Tim’s Training Blog 15th Feb 2010…..(Probably best not to be eating and definitely not drinking when you read this one)

Hi all

Did you pay attention to the warning above???

A “short” but “to the point” blog this week.

I am back to being scared about S2S again…will I be fit enough? Will I have lost enough weight??

To allay my fears as best as possible I have been putting in the hard yards in the local mountains each weekend. Since the last blog I have done Mt Nebo and Glorious again (last weekend) and on Saturday I did a relatively short ride (65k) but with heaps of climbing, ie I drove out to MT Mee with the bike in a trailer then rode up and down MT Mee 5 times giving me 1734m of climbing. It gave me this ridiculous looking up-down-up-down-up-down-up-down-up-down elevation profile of the ride:

One big challenge lately has been that in Qld in the middle of summer it is not only ridiculously hot it is also insanely humid, so keeping up the hydration during the harder and longer Mountain training rides is critical. I sweat like a pig to put it bluntly.

How hard has it been to stay well hydrated? Here is an example (all based in good science of course);

Last weekend I weighed my self when I arrived home from my ride and I was 3 kg lighter than when I left home  . That is in spite of having drunk 5 x 800 mil bottles of staminade during the ride!!!

Almost all of that weight loss is hydration loss (yep sweat)…. And if you do the maths it means that I sweated a lot…how much exactly???

Get the picture??? SEVEN one-litre bottles of sweat EEEEEEEEeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwww!!! That is disgusting (I warned you not to be eating or drinking when you read this) but YEP that is what mountain riding in Qld does to you in summer.

However, the good news is that I am definitely getting fitter all the time, and the weight loss is on track for my riding-weight-target (or close to it) by S2S day: I have now lost 8kg since starting training in November (that is a proper & fully hydrated weight…not what I weighed after the weekend ride).

Thanks again to every one who has supported me. Please remember to spread the word and ask people to donate against my name at this link: http://www.everydayhero.com.au/sea_2_summit_challenge_2010

We have raised over $20,000 but I have really dropped behind so any help you can muster from your contacts would be greatly appreciated.

Best wishes and we’ll talk again soon

Tim

Leave a Reply

