Tim’s Training Blog 3rd Feb. I did a “S 1 S” and …”Crikey”; I even wrestled a snake!!

Hi All

 Well it is all getting terribly serious now with the big S2Sevent approaching rapidly!

 The big stories since my last update are:

I did 3 mountain rides in 8 days including a ride that was pretty much a half-Sea-To-Summit (hence an “S1S” 😐  ).

  1. Mountain ride one was last Saturday 23rd Jan

2. Mountain ride 2 was Australia Day 26th Jan

3. Mountain ride 3 was Saturday 30 Jan

  • 120k (Mt Glorious twice and Mt Nebo)
  • 2030m vertical gain including a huge bit of very steep climbing which is similar to the dreaded Beloka Range part of S2S (you can see it below, it is the nearly vertical bit in the middle of the elevation profile)

Those plus my shorter rides gave me a total of just under 400k for the 8 day period.

Another Wildlife Adventure…,  

When I am on my training rides I’m trying to channel Sir Hubert “Oppy” Opperman an amazing Australian endurance rider of years past

 but CRIKEY… this bloke :

keeps breaking through instead! (not that that is a bad thing)…

On the first mountain ride of the week, there was a big snake sunning itself on the road half way up Mt Glorious, complete with a couple of other cyclists just standing looking at it. I couldn’t leave it there to be squashed by a car so I gave it a bit of a nudge but it didn’t seem interested in moving so I had to grab the silly thing and carry it off the road. I think the other guys thought I was a bit weird…but I’ve never been able to resist doing a Steve Irwin impersonation and grabbing snakes when the opportunity presents itself (so long as I am confident that it isn’t a poisonous one!!!). Needless to say I didn’t have a camera with me at the time, but here is a photo of a slightly smaller snake that I prepared earlier! (I caught in our chook house one night, so I had a good excuse to wrestle with it J. NB the snake was released into the bush unharmed after it had smiled for the camera).

Anyway, following on from last weeks’ koala encounter, it seems that S2S is having the beneficial side effect of saving a few of our native animals from untimely deaths on our roads. 

I’ve lost 6kg so far…and 6 or 8 to go…

The motivation to lose weight is high now that I am actually mountain riding. Every kg I lose will be worth its weight in gold on the climb…if only it was worth its weight in gold in the fundrasing (at the current price, 6kg of gold = $242,641.92). Of course I am totally open to anyone who wants to sponsor my weight loss as part of the fundrasing. Don’t forget the fundraising link

http://www.everydayhero.com.au/sea_2_summit_challenge_2010

Ok so my next long ride will hopefully be a 150k ride with over 2000m of climbing next weekend.

Talk again soon.

Tim.

Leave a Reply

